Friday , May 26 2017
Home / Wireless Router / ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security Reviews

ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security Reviews

ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

  • Smart Connect automatically selects the fastest band for all devices individually, based on their demands and capabilities
  • Built-in USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports for up to 10-times faster data transfers to USB storage devices1, printer sharing, and 3G/4G dongle support
  • ASUSWRT graphical user interface for easy, CD-free 30-second setup and hassle-free advanced network control
  • Protection with Trend Micro with triple-strength total network security, plus robust parental controls and privacy protection
  • ASUS AiCloud 2.0 lets you access, sync, share and stream your files anywhere, on any internet-connected device
  • AiProtection with Trend MicroTM for complete network security

ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router. RT-AC3200 redefines wireless performance for all your connected devices! With the world’s first fastest combined speeds, the widest-ever coverage, plus total security, RT-AC3200 takes your wireless network to the next level. Its state-of-the-art design allows every device to work at full speed, ensuring lag-free online gaming, silky-smooth 4K/UHD video streams, and effortless downloading.. Provides an extensible design that enables service

List Price: $ 423.62

Price: $ 199.95

Find More Wireless Router Products

Check Also

41Onjgs-NnL._SL160_

Tenda AC6 Dual Band 1200Mbps 11AC 802.11g/n/b/a WPS WDS VPN Firewall Wireless Repeater Router (AC6, Black)

Tenda AC6 Dual Band 1200Mbps 11AC 802.11g/n/b/a WPS WDS VPN Firewall Wireless Repeater Router (AC6, …

5 comments

  1. The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
    221 of 229 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Asus Rt-AC3200 vs. Netgear X6 vs. D-Link AC3200 ***updated 4/14***, February 9, 2015
    By 
    D. Stines
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security (Personal Computers)
    I have tried all 3 of these routers. I have had more time to play with the Netgear X6 and Asus Rt-AC3200. My internet is through Comcast. I get about 127 Mbps down and 12 up. So far I find they are all pretty much ok. I feel like if you drop $300 on a router it should be amazing. I know you will find people that cry and say expect bugs for new technology and I should be hung for saying this. Yes I do expect some but for flag ship routers I expect them to be squashed very quickly. So far they all have been coming out slow. And by the way I am coming from an old Netgear R6300.

    RANGE
    So far range is not that impressive of any of the three. I expected more. I do get a signal in all of my house and outside but I did previously. The signal in the garage is pretty weak which is only 30-40 feet from the router. I would have to say Asus had the weakest not by much and the D-link and X6 are about the same.

    DESIGN
    I know this is personal preference but I prefer the Asus, followed by the D-link and then the X6. The D-link does seem like the nicest quality. If it were black it would probably win in my book, I keep it in my living room and it is bright red. The X6 seems like cheap plastic and the antennas are very cheap looking.

    SMART CONNECT
    So far the smart connect works the best with the D-Link. It hasn’t dropped connections on me so far. I just don’t understand why at times it puts some of my AC devices on the 2.4 Ghz band. I find with the Asus that is its biggest flaw. The smart connect is terrible and drops constanty. I got really tired of my 6 year old bringing me his tablet multiple times a day telling me “The internet is broken again”. It disconnected after some devices went to sleep and after about 10 seconds being awake they would reconnect (wifi is set to never turn off even during sleep). The Dlink and Asus have one SSID for the 3 bands. The X6 has two SSID’s. One for 2.4 Ghz and one for 5 Ghz.

    SPEED
    Besides usage I tested the speed using speedtest.net. I do find the D-Link to be on the slower side. It is hit and miss. I might get half my download speed. Other times I get all of it. I always get full speed with the Asus and X6. But besides using the speed test I have no problems with any of them being slow. Unless you use QOS…

    QOS
    This is important to me because I have about 12 devices hooked up at the same time. Sometimes more sometimes less. Tablets, phones, Chromecasts, a Nexus Player, Tv, Xbox. You name it. The QOS winner hands down is Asus. You can assign priorities to each device and it works well. The X6 has a couple boxes to check to enable QOS. D-links is terrible. I have tried it. It cut my download speeds down 40 Mbps on every device. Even the one assigned as the highest priority.

    UI
    Each one has their own user interface. D-link definitely has the worst one. There is not much to customize or change. It is by far pretty much worthless. The Asus and Netgear are both pretty good. I personally like the way the Asus one is set up better and hands down their QOS setup. I also like Netgear and Asus traffic meters better. Asus has the best one of these also. You can see by device % of what data was used for on each device. Handy.

    Overall I have to say they are all very good routers. Amazing $300 routers? Hell no. If Asus would get off their butts and fix the dropping connection problem I would own this hands down. But its not worth a $300 gamble. As of right now I’m still torn between the D-Link and the X6 being the best. I will attach a couple photos of a D-link and X6. There is an upside down Blu-ray for size reference.

    **Updated 4/14***

    So I have been using the Asus router since the review because I really liked the one SSID and the interface it has. Well on 4/12 the updated they firmware for the fourth time and finally got it right! No disconnects! When I turn my tablets on they are actually connected! I highly recommend this router right now. Thank you Asus! Fourth times a charm!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No






  2. stem
    The manufacturer commented on this review(What’s this?)
    Posted on

    Mar 9, 2015 9:39:13 AM PDT

    ASUS Support says:
    Dear Valued Customer,

    Did you try heading to our support site to see if the latest firmware was rolled out to address the issues you have faced? For instance the latest firmware addressed Smart Connect feature updates, as listed below:

    ASUS RT-AC3200 Firmware version 3.0.0.4.378.4145
    Security related
    – Upgrade OpenSSL library to 1.0.0q
    – Upgrade TrendMicro engine

    Modifications
    – Adjusted Smart connect variable
    – Modified QIS process
    – Enlarged IPv6 ARP cache

    If you need help accessing the support site I have left a link here for you:

    http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTAC3200/HelpDesk_Download/

    We use one of these router here at the office for hosting meetings for vendors and such; it has yet to ever fail us or have a single issue. If you still need help operating your RT-AC3200 then please contact me with case number N150327824 for reference to your issue. I’m here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department is dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

    Sincerely,

    Adam
    ASUS Customer Loyalty
    Networking_support@asus.com

     
  3. 224 of 234 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    ASUS RT-AC3200: Better high power, open source friendly router than Netgear Nighthawk X6. I won’t even need Openwrt on it., April 7, 2015
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security (Personal Computers)
    About me and my prior experience with wifi routers:
    I’m a linux guy with 20 years experience, I like to tweak my wireless routers to make them do extra stuff like wake on lan for my mythtv, or run custom scripts to monitor my house, or whatever. I’ve used many different linux based WiFi routers in the last 10 years or so, including WRT54G, to WRT600N, WNDR3800 (those you can hack, but WiFi is still not reliable with openwrt for me which is a shame for a WiFi router), to the less friendly WNDR4500 (powerful when I bought it, but couldn’t install 3rd party builds on it back then).
    I really wanted to like and buy the WRT-1900AC until I saw that linksys mislead us, and it’s only about a year later, that it’s starting to see some open source support, and it’s not fully working yet. To be fair, my WNDR4500 Wifi has been rock solid, but I only use it as a Wifi bridge, not even as a router, and run nothing on it since the stock firmware won’t let me run what I need.

    The Review:
    I’m not going to review on the Wifi aspects of the RT-AC3200, other reviews have done this and honestly the Nighthawk X6 and RT-AC3200 are going to be pretty close since they use the same chipset. Note that most bad reviews are from people with basic Wifi issues and setup problems that could happen with all WiFi routers.
    The Asus however offers smartconnect aka band steering, the option of moving your WiFi clients automatically from 5Ghz #1 (high band, more speed, less range), 5Ghz #2 (low 5Ghz band, a bit less speed, a bit more range), and 2Ghz (less speed but much more range).
    The Nighthawk only supports handoff between its two 5Ghz bands. Smartconnect as of April 2015 still causes problems for many, and most turn it off for now, but 1) it will get better so you can turn it on later, 2) if you don’t mind tweaking, it can likely be made to work for you depending on your clients. Google for “rt ac3200 smart connect missing manual” to hopefully get 5Ghz->2Ghz handoff working for you.
    There is also a reported issue of frequent disconnects on the Asus (hourly). This is due to a WPA key rotation option you can turn on and doesn’t work well with some clients. Don’t use it, and you should be fine.

    Now, let’s get to open source. While you might not care about supporting the company that does a better job supporting the opens source community all those products are now based on, Asus provides you with a router you can install your own 3rd party linux programs on. If you are hands on and/or know linux, you likely very much care about this.

    This is my first router which supports open source out of the box, you can add your own software trivially and don’t have to wait a year or more for a working open source build of dd-wrt or openwrt, with sometimes only half working wireless due to binary driver problems.
    Again, for comparison, my linksys WNDR4500 is only going to be getting dd-wrt now after 2 years, and I’m a bit wary of how that’s going to turn out (after way too long of no real working open source support). Another example was the linksys WRT-1900AC, supposed to be the ultimate hacker router. It barely works with openwrt one year later, with manual work, and it’s not stable yet.

    Asus RT-AC3200: unpacked it, turned on sshd, ready to add 3rd party open source software. Asuswrt is already great, it’s based on tomato-usb (open source router platform) and out of the the box you can install 3rd party linux software (perl, whatever) with Entware. I’m glad I gave my money to Asus just for that. Google Entware asuswrt-merlin for details on this.
    Then there is a developer who makes the asuswrt-merlin build: you get a few extra features on the base router too while keeping working wireless. It’s so good out of the box that I have no need to install openwrt on it should it exist later.

    So this router strongly exceeded my expectations. Thank you Asus.

    Minuses so far:
    – $300 is obviously a steep price, but it’s market rate for now
    – Asus support is supposed to be good on the phone, but I Emailed networking_support@asus.com on a monday early morning. Heard nothing 24H later.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. 25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Finally found the sweet spot for routers!, March 7, 2015
    By 
    Howard L. Gault
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: ASUS RT-AC3200 Wireless-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security (Personal Computers)

    I’ve finally found the sweet spot for routers! This baby rocks and solves the problems with SLOW android internet access in glorious fashion! Signal strength is equal or better than any of the ac routers I’ve tried (2 Netgear, 2 DLink, and an ASUS RT-AC87 that died). The wonderful difference is that my android devices are getting full speed (58-60 mbps) downloads from my Comcast provider. Since I receive 60 mbps from the wired desktop (rated speed for my service), that is a HUGE improvement for the android OS devices-READ 80% BETTER! Note that this is with QoS active. That leaves competing devices sucking wind! This ASUS QoS really works, and that is very refreshing!
    Note that to get it into this fast state, one MUST power off the modem, router, and computer. Power on the modem for 2 minutes, power on the router for 2 minutes, then power on the computer. It may require 2 or 3 times through this process to get it running at top speed. I don’t know why it takes this, but it just does!
    I really like the firmware interface, but you should know that you’ll have to do manual updates to get the latest firmware…AND YOU DO WANT IT!! It is really slick, and should address even complex situations requiring specific configurations.
    I have some concerns with using a SAMBA access to a USB drive plugged into the router, and that is why it is rated only 4 stars. While an installed drive can be seen on my LAN as a drive and as a media device, the drive is blank, with no files or subfolders showing. I’ll address this with tech support Monday, but that is not a top concern for me.
    The DLNA function is working with some occasional hiccups, such as frozen video after a fast forward or sound dropping out with video working-again, after a fast forward. I have to do some more research to verify that it can really stand alone as a media server, but initial results are mixed. It seems that if you just let it play, things go well. I will update when all of that is resolved.
    _____________
    Update to DLNA: After several attempts to get DLNA stable, I must note that it is a flaky implementation as a media server. The prime complaint is that it generally will lose the media feed 2-3 times when first started, then again after about 1.5-2 hours of use. This is very exasperating when you are into a movie or show! Other media servers are rock solid under exactly the same conditions, while the router’s DLNA software is very buggy. Hopefully, a fix is going to be forthcoming…

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!6/2/2015 UPDATE: DLNA remains as a problem. So far, none of the updates have addressed this issue. It continues to drop the video programming randomly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!7/29/2015 UPDATE: DLNA remains as a problem, but now the media server is completely unavailable on any device!?! I guess that is one way of addressing the issue-just turn it off in the software updates.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!8/24/15!!!!!!!!!!!!! UPDATE: DLNA remains as a problem. I selected the ‘All discs shared’ option’, which triggered a scan of both disc drives and got the server visible once again. Only one of the drives has media on it, but any selection of the manual option so as to only see the needed media disc storage works for about 15 minutes, then the media server goes idle and the media server stops completely!?! Even with the All discs option active, the server continues to stop, loose the video feed, and one must reenter by reselecting the server, finding the media, and (here’s the only good [?] part) selecting resume. WHAT A CONTINUING PAIN THIS IS!! ASUS, ARE YOU LISTENING??

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!UPDATE 1/2/16!!!!!!!!!! GREAT NEWS!! ASUS finally addressed the DLNA server included with the router and it is running rock solid! I am updating my stars rating to 5, but must note that I haven’t tried to access ASUS Support after the initial run around that I received. That said, this is a truly great router, and blazing fast!!
    _______________________________________________
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!UPDATE 6/1/16!!!!!!!!!!! DLNA still won’t correctly play files with any 480 frame size, although some now will show the video portion with NO SOUND. Some 720 frame size files exhibit the same behavior, and some of those won’t play at all; while others with a 720 dimension work fine with video and sound! Here, video length seems to be the problem. Videos approaching 2 hours (or more) in length fail. ALL OTHER FRAME SIZES WORK JUST FINE! Not only that, but the ASUS media server is really ‘snappy’ in its response to commands. If these frame size issues can be resolved, this will be my GOTO media server!!!

    Now for the bad/good news from my earlier downgrade in rating from 3 days ago:

    I have removed a star after a frustrating 3 hours of trying to obtain support from ASUS! Here is the problem:

    “The product…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *