Friday , July 21 2017
Home / Wireless Router / Linksys WRT54GL Wi-Fi Wireless-G Broadband Router Reviews

Linksys WRT54GL Wi-Fi Wireless-G Broadband Router Reviews

Linksys WRT54GL Wi-Fi Wireless-G Broadband Router

Linksys WRT54GL Wi-Fi Wireless-G Broadband Router

  • Linux-based Internet-sharing Router with built-in 4-port Switch and Wireless-G Access Point
  • Shares a single Internet connection (10/100 WAN) with 4 Ethernet wired (10/100 switched LAN ;Compliant with the IEEE 802.11b/g protocol
  • Max. Link Rate:54 Mbps; Has 2 External Antennas ; supports WPA2 standards for use of the available encryption regardless of client devices and features a built-in SPI firewall to prevent potential attacks from the Internet
  • Interface: Ethernet Port
  • Platform Compatibility: Windows XP , Windows Vista 32/64 ; package includes router and no modem

The Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router is really three devices in one box. First, theres the Wireless Access Point, which lets you connect both screaming fast Wireless-G (802.11g at 54Mbps) and Wireless-B (802.11b at 11Mbps) devices to the network. Theres also a built-in 4-port full-duplex 10/100 Switch to connect your wired-Ethernet devices together. Connect four PCs directly, or attach more hubs and switches to create as big a network as you need. Finally, the Router function ties it all toge

List Price: $ 79.99

Price: $ 21.92

NETGEAR AC1750 Smart WiFi Router Dual Core 800MHz Processor – Router Only (R6400-100NAS)

NETGEAR AC1750 Smart WiFi Router Dual Core 800MHz Processor - Router Only (R6400-100NAS)

  • AC1750 Wi-Fi – 450+1300 Mbps speeds and high-power external antennas
  • Ideal for homes with 12 or more Wi-Fi devices
  • NETGEAR genie App – Enjoy more of your connected home. Now with remote access
  • One USB 3.0 Port and one USB 2.0 Port
  • Beamforming + focuses Wi-Fi signals from the wireless router to Wi-Fi devices
  • ReadyCLOUD USB Access allows you to enjoy personal and secure cloud access to USB storage anytime, anywhere4 Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Advanced Quality of Service (QoS)
  • Parental Controls – Web filtering for all your connected devices

The NETGEAR AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Router with external antennas delivers extremely fast Wi-Fi. With AC1750 Wi-Fi, Gigabit Ethernet speeds, and high-powered external antennas, this router offers ultimate performance in wireless coverage for large homes with 12 or more wireless devices. It gets 3x faster access than similar 802.11n.

List Price: $ 129.99

Price: $ 109.00

New NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1750 Smart Dual Band WiFi Router (R6700)
$98.33
End Date: Saturday Aug-19-2017 9:32:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $98.33
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Linksys Velop WHW0302 Tri-Band Whole Home AC6600 Wi-Fi Router System Pack Of 2
$259.99
End Date: Saturday Aug-19-2017 10:05:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $259.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list

Check Also

31OFH6rtBSL._SL160_

Motorola MG7550 16×4 Cable Modem, AC1900 Dual Band Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with Power Boost, 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 and Time Warner Cable

Motorola MG7550 16×4 Cable Modem, AC1900 Dual Band Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with Power Boost, 686 …

6 comments

  1. 143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Slow speed still, allow me to help!, December 20, 2015
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    Now this is a router!
    First i would like to start by saying i absolutely love this router. Its WIFI range is great, its dual band so i have choices and i can set up a guest network with the click of my mouse. It has a friendly User interface that allows everyday users to make changes as they see fit. It also allows for media prioritization by simply dragging your computer, or any device to the top of the list or to a separate list. This will ensure that no matter how many devices are connected your chosen device will always get what bandwidth it needs.

    Now The IMPORTANT part.
    Some people including myself have found that the speed coming out of the router to the devices was not as advertised from my Cable company. Directly from the Modem i received 100 MB down but the moment i used the router i was getting only 30. I even used the Built in speed test app in the router. After hours of hunting for the problem i discovered the culprit. The router comes pre programmed to Cap the at 30 MB.
    HAVE NO FEAR, the solution is simple.
    1: Log in to you router at 192.168.1.1 (assuming you did not change it.)
    2: Click the media prioritization tab on the left.
    3: Click setting (see attached picture)
    4: Change the number. to whatever your max limit is. 0 may be unlimited though i have not tried this i just raised mine from 30000 to 120000

    Enjoy the router!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. 166 of 180 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Signal strength was good, speed was good, features good, October 9, 2015
    By 
    J. Donaldson (Redding, CA USA) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What’s this?)

    I must say evaluating a router isn’t easy. I spent over 4 hours, making changes, doing tests, and writing this report.

    There are two things I’m interested in with a WiFi router. 1) How easy is it to setup. 2) How fast is it.

    If you don’t like reading long detailed reviews here is the synopsis: The setup was easy, the signal strength was good, and the data transfer rates were good. I recommend this router.

    If you like more detail read on…

    SETUP
    This is the easiest to setup router I’ve ever used, and I’ve had perhaps 10 WiFi routers over the years. I disconnected the previous router, connected all of the cables to this router, and powered it up. With a browser I went to address 192.168.1.1 and logged in (using the username and password from the documentation). I selected the automatic setup and went through a couple of steps, renaming the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz and setting my own choice of password. That was pretty much it. All of my WiFi devices just worked as did the 1TB hard drive I plugged into the USB port. I did have to map the 1TB drive to our computers which was an expected extra step.

    SPEED
    This is a much more difficult thing to test. There are many variables and signal issues to consider. There are “channels”, “bands”, signal strength, and data transfer rates.

    In the end, to give you the short version, I found this router to be better than the relatively new TP_Link AC router it will replace. But it isn’t magic. It might take some experimentation to squeeze the best behavior out of this Linksys.

    When using the 2.4GHz band other devices such as cordless phones and baby monitors can be on the same band and reduce the signal strength. When running WiFi tests on my smartphone one of the weakest channels is always the channel I’m on. That’s because my phone is using a lot of the bandwidth on that channel and mode. That alone reduces the measured signal strength on that channel. Of course all of the neighbors have WiFi and several devices such as tablets, laptops, smartphones, ROKU, and other devices that can interfere with the available signal strength.

    We are on a cable modem, not a DSL line. DSL offers slower data rates but the data rate is constant. With DSL you’re not sharing the bandwidth with your neighbors. With cable we share the bandwidth with many other people so the bandwidth increases and decreases as other people in the neighborhood use the internet.

    So trying to evaluate one WiFi router vs another isn’t easy because so many things can cause signal strength and data rate variations during testing. But there isn’t much I can do about that so I just went ahead and ran the two tests at my disposal. One is an app on my smartphone called WiFi Analyzer, and the other is the widely known SpeedTest.

    My test method was this: I first ran tests using my old WiFi Router. I went to the four corners of our tract home lot. At each corner I ran both the WiFi Analyzer and SpeedTest, recording the results. I then replaced the old TP-Link AC1200 WiFi router with this Linksys WRT AC1900 Dual-Band Smart WiFi Router and ran the tests again. We live in a single story detached wood frame home. The WiFi router is mounted somewhat off center of the house on top of a 6′ high wood cabinet.

    I ran most of the tests on the 2.4GHz band because I have some devices that only run on that band. I did do one test on the 5GHz band and the results were good, but as the old TP-Link router didn’t have a “B” mode 5GHz WiFi option I could not run comparison tests. I have zero devices with the new AC mode so could run no tests at all for that mode. I suspect most people have no or few AC mode devices. AC devices have been out for a while but I have not had a need to replace any of our devices and many new devices still don’t come with the AC mode. We’ve installed two WiFi printers recently and both only have the 2.4GHz band.

    The results were far less than positive for the Linksys in terms of signal strength at first. So I fiddled with two variables.

    The first change I tried was to install High Gain antennas on the Linksys replacing the four small antennas included. I had previously installed the new High Gain antennas on the TP-Link, which at the time made very little difference while running the same tests. I took the High Gain, much larger, antennas off the TP-Link and installed them on the new Linksys. The results were worse than the stock antennas. Length of the antenna isn’t an indicator of a better signal. I have a background in electronics and spent 4 years on military radar so I understand antennas are tuned. My advice to myself and others is don’t waste your money on high gain antennas.

    The second change I made was to the channel. The TP-Link router had automatically chosen channel 6, but the new Linksys had automatically chosen channel 1. So,…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    Just Not Good Enough for Modern Broadband – Caps out at 45mbps, January 12, 2016
    By 
    Phil L. (San Jose, CA) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Linksys WRT54GL Wi-Fi Wireless-G Broadband Router (Personal Computers)
    Much has been said about the venerable Linksys WRT54G/GL line of routers and they were fantastic for their time. The hardware hasn’t changed much since 2005, and it’s definitely starting to show. I had an older WRT54 years ago, reflashed with DD-WRT, and it served me well on my DSL line for years. That, however, was years ago, and I currently have a very high speed line from Comcast.

    After worrying that my latest router (a 5 year old Buffalo HP-G300) was having some random issues with it’s power supply, I remembered the old WRT54GL line and purchased one as a replacement. It was up and running perfectly in minutes. I use a separate and dedicated wireless access point so I disabled the wireless radio on the Linksys and ran some tests using only a cabled LAN connection. That’s when I noticed something was very wrong.

    This router caps out at about 45mpbs (about 5.6 megabytes/sec). It just won’t offer me any more throughput than that. This is without even bothering to mess with the wireless, I’m talking just my computer and my modem plugged into this router via Cat6 cables. If I were to use the wireless, I can imagine that would be even slower due to nearby radio interference. It just doesn’t have enough processing power in it’s 10 year old design to handle more than 45mbps.

    I plugged my computer directly into my cable modem, using the same cables, and ran the same speed tests and immediately saw 175mbps. I plugged my computer back into my Buffalo and saw 172mpbs. I went back to the Linksys to the same speed test sites, and still saw only 45mbps. I upgraded the Linksys firmware to the latest from their support site, and same 45mbps. I flashed the appropriate DD-WRT onto the Linksys, thinking maybe it was something goofy with Linksys’ firmware, and still, only 45mbps.

    So I just can’t recommend this venerable guy if you pay for anything faster than a very basic cable 45mbps broadband package. You’ll be paying for internet speed that you can’t use if you have this router. I suspect this will be fine for most DSL installations as well as satellite internet, but for any modern broadband provider you’ll be gimping your speed by using the WRT54GL.

    If you do own this router and pay for faster broadband, you may want to plug directly into your modem and do some speed tests without having this router in the loop. You may be surprised to find that your speeds are significantly faster, and if so you should upgrade from this router.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. 186 of 202 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    The setup was pretty easy. I had the router up and running …, December 21, 2015
    By 
    kwheeler (Jacksonville, FL United States) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: NETGEAR AC1750 Smart WiFi Router Dual Core 800MHz Processor – Router Only (R6400-100NAS) (Personal Computers)
    I bought this Wi-Fi router in October 2015 expecting it to be a major upgrade from the Netgear 7550 ADSL + 7550 router I had for 4 years from my service provider. I was not excited about the $150 price tag, but considered it necessary expenditure to improve the Wi-Fi experience for my family in my home. A lot of different devices requiring multiple internet connections.

    The setup was pretty easy. I had the router up and running in less than 15 minutes. We experienced upwards of 30MBPS speeds and great throughput from the router. Initially, we were pleased with this router.

    From October to December 20th, 2016, the only issue we had with this router was an occasional need to power cycle (reboot) the router. I did not consider that a big deal because that seems to be normal for devices like this.

    On December 20th, the lack of quality and the lack of customer service provided by Netgear presented itself. The router without notice stopped working. I attempted to troubleshoot the router myself by power cycling the router, resetting the router, and re-installing the router, but nothing worked. The only LEDs that lit up on the router were the internet LED and Ethernet LEDs. The power LED did not illuminate at all. After 45 minutes of self-troubleshooting, I created Netgear case # 26207878, and then called the Netgear support line. On my first attempt, the Netgear technical support person hung up on me before we got started. I called again and got a second Netgear technical support person. He proceeded to walk through a script to troubleshoot the router with me, but the router was not returning to a usable state. After 20 minutes or so, the representative proceeded to tell me that there must be a configuration issue between my cable modem and the router, and that it would be a $69 charge for him to help with the cable modem. I declined knowing that it had nothing to do with the cable modem. It was all about issues with the Netgear AC1750 R6400 Wi-Fi router. The representative then put me on hold for a few minutes after I declined the $69 charge. He came back having me hold the reset button and unplugging the router from the AC outlet 7-8 times. The state of the router did not change with that step. After that final step, the Netgear support person basically told me that I need to get a replacement from Amazon and that he would be closing the case. That seemed to be a pretty lousy response from the Netgear representative. This router had a 1 year warranty from Netgear! Please take this warning and know that Netgear’s published warranty is worthless! I cannot recommend Netgear products based on my experience with this product.

    On a positive note, I was really impressed with the level of customer service from Amazon.com. I read over Amazon’s return policy and learned that the router I purchased from Amazon could no longer be returned per the Amazon return policy. After reading the policy, I decided to contact Amazon in a chat session to discuss my issues with the router. The Amazon service representative was more than accommodating and went above and beyond addressing my issues. Amazon is providing me a replacement router at no charge. In my opinion, that burden/cost should be Netgear’s responsibility, but Amazon stepped up and provided outstanding customer service. I already loved Amazon, but the gesture from Amazon makes me even more of a fan!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. 480 of 525 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    I can’t believe I am going to say this, but, I am sorry Comcast., September 21, 2015
    By 
    Amazon Customer (Colorado) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: NETGEAR AC1750 Smart WiFi Router Dual Core 800MHz Processor – Router Only (R6400-100NAS) (Personal Computers)
    So I hate, hate, hate Comcast. Hate them with a passion. I tell them I hate them, I dream that I hate them.

    For years I always complained about how I purchase 25MPS service from them but over my WI-FI I am lucky to get 4-5MPS D/L speed, then I need to reset the router and I am thrilled when I get 10MPS.

    This went on for three years me screaming at them. Literally on the phone yelling! I can’t imagine what my customer notes must say about me.

    I thought I was justified, I even went out and had bought two or three different wireless routers all around the $50-80 price point. Still F-ing Comcast screws me over by throttling me WIFI. I KNOW IT!

    Finally, I start to think maybe just maybe the billion dollar company from Satan is not messing with me and maybe I should just try buying the most expensive router out there. This router is what I chose.

    I set in up in blink since I had done this so many times. I sit down at my log onto my phone… go to speed test app. . . .

    Get the F outta here . . . 29 MPS D/L speed. Wholey guacamoley!!!

    Run to the desktop, this can’t be right. I know SATAN is COMCAST and COMCAST is SATAN!!!!

    Hop on speed test and sure enough, 30 MPS a second.

    I have checked this over weeks and it remains the same. Outstanding. Speechless and outstanding.

    Get this router now. Spend the money, bite the bullet and enjoy wicked fast internet.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. 153 of 164 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Awesome if your devices support Wireless AC; Might not be justified with Wireless N or G devices., August 3, 2015
    By 

    This review is from: NETGEAR AC1750 Smart WiFi Router Dual Core 800MHz Processor – Router Only (R6400-100NAS) (Personal Computers)
    This is our 4th Netgear router. We’ve had a Wireless G 108 Mbps, an N150, an N600, and now the R6400. After getting a Wireless AC capable laptop, we decided to try out this router. So far I must say the speeds using AC are outstanding with almost no discernible difference in speed from the wired devices. Wireless N over 5 Ghz is also much more stable in a multi unit complex. If improved speed and less interference are what you’re after, this is an outstanding choice. That said, if you’re expecting miraculous improvement of range over the N600 and N900 models, you might be disappointed. From testing before (N600) and after (R6400), the range is nearly identical, with the same weak spots. In addition, the N600 got the same or slightly better speeds when testing 2.4 Ghz. Therefore, I can’t say the jump to wireless AC will be worth the added expense for everyone.

    PROS:
    +Wireless AC connection is just as fast as wired within about a 20 foot radius
    +Wireless N at 5 Ghz reduces interference in heavy wifi saturated areas such as multi unit buildings
    +Simultaneous Dual Band and backwards compatibility gives you flexibility for choosing further range, less crowded frequencies, and support for older devices.
    +Can connect quite a few devices with no hit to performance or interruptions.
    +Solid reliability so far
    +Took 5 minutes to setup everything

    CONS:
    -Being new, it’s fairly expensive when compared to competing routers and discounts are not prevalent.
    -This thing is HUGE! If you’re used Netgear’s legacy products, you may need to make room for this.
    -Horizontal orientation or wall mount only make this more difficult to find room for on shelves.
    -While the bright white status lights look cool, they could be a real annoyance in a bedroom at night.

    The bottom line here is that if you have products that support Wireless AC or plan to future proof, this router could be great for you. If you don’t have a super fast Internet connection or have devices that only support Wireless N or lower, you might be better off spending half as much and getting a high quality Wireless N router.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *